I am down 5 pounds in 2 weeks. I work out anytime my schedule allows so far 2 days a week, but that is going to change soon. I have limited my carb intake a little - not a lot. Then I also limit my portion control. I used to eat until I was stuffed and then felt sick after and now I don't do that. I pause between bites, take smaller bites and then take a big break in the middle of my meal and if I am full I stop eating. Easy peasy!
Growing up we were taught to eat all of our food or we couldn't "get down and play" or do what we want, so we were taught to eat everything on our plate and fast, so we could move on to bigger and better things. Well that has taught me horrible habits. I eat fast, it's not a contest, and I eat it all!!! There is nothing wrong with saving it for another meal, sharing it or just giving it away completely. I am trying really hard to change my mind set. I am also going to teach this to my daughter. I don't want her to feel like a garbage disposal and consume tonz of food she doesn't want or need.
I will admit the weekends are a little hard. I really do enjoy drinking beer and have cut back significantly but the weekends tend to be a challenge and I know it's only going to get worse as the weather gets better - BBQ and Beer go hand in hand. But as long as I am active and get more active I can have a reward day and not feel too guilty about it.
My mother bought me some birthday clothes for a girls trip we are taking in May. I had her buy the pants a size smaller than I am now! Scary! But it's good to have a goal and know that if I don't lose weight I am going to look awfully silly and uncomfortable on my vacation and I certainly don't want that!
I want to welcome summer with open arms and no anxiety about how I look in shorts or even a bathing suit.
Wish me luck!
No comments:
Post a Comment