Wednesday, January 18, 2012

No shopping while hungry!!!

The other night I broke the cardinal rule - NO Grocery Shopping While Hungry!!!!

Or this could and most likely does happen!



What was I thinking!?!?!  I didn't do too bad, well I could have caused a lot more damage.  I just bought a cheeseball - a buffalo blue cheese one.  Sounds gross!?!  Well it wasn't!  I did eat it with some whole grain crackers, but still all those calories, the carbs!  YIKES!! Then my fat brain said - well you already ruined your diet for the day you should have a beer!!!  What did I do?? Have a beer!! Maybe two! Oh goodness!

I regretted it big time.  I did SOOOO good all day and now that was just washed down the drain! Gone.

BUT I did learn some great things though, although, it may be the third or hundredth time I've learned it - don't beat yourself up more than you need to. There is nothing you can do about it now - just going forward!!

The regret and loss of sleep and number on the scale is not worth it, so just don't do it!

You're only hurting yourself!

Now you have to work that much harder!

I could probably go on, but I'm not.  I definitely woke up the following morning with a new attitude, a better one.  I've decided to work hard to stay on track and focus on my goals!!

YAY!!!

Monday, January 16, 2012

2nd Workout

Don't worry I won't number all of my workouts but I will the first handful since they are small but yet big steps for me. 

I woke up this morning and did a super fast workout, but the way I look at it, is it's better than nothing, right!?!?  Plus it worked out my arms and I hope they hurt a little later today knowing that my workout was effective. 

I have to admit I do love when my muscles ache a bit after a workout it means it's working!!! YAY!!!

I didn't lose any weight this weekend, but I didn't gain either.  YAY!!!  Those damn carbs get me every time!!!  I'm Italian (my excuse for a lot of things as I explain this using my hands) and I can't, simply can't say no to pasta or a good loaf of bread!!  I mean really!?!?!  But look  I am paying the price. 

I am back on track today and will continue to be.  There is something about the weekends that seem so "fancy free"!!  But here we are Monday and it's time to get back to business. 

YAY!!!

Friday, January 13, 2012

1st Workout

This morning was my very first workout in a really long time. It was only a 10 minute workout video but it was tough, I was sweating, I was cursing, I was feeling the burn and now I feel great!!  The workout involved a lot of squats which are awful to perform but very effective.  I was feeling SO motivated this morning and still do!!  I want to look like the lady in the workout video!! She had a rockin' bod!!

My eating plan is still going well.  I will admit that dinner time with my family is where it becomes difficult.  My family doesn't want to eat a Lean and Green Meal every night.  I do awesome during the day in eating my small, low or no-carb meals, so that I can "splurge" a little at dinner.  For example, Michael made himself an awesome cheesy, hot, toasted meatball sub!  It did look divine but I opted for really thin slice of the homemade sour dough bread, mustard, and TONZ of veggies and low-sodium shredded turkey!  The sandwich was to die for!!!  It was filling, healthy and fabulous PLUS I got to sit down with my family at the dinner table as we all enjoyed a tasty sandwich.  I am finding healthy alternatives to eating and drinking.  I feel more motivated than I ever have.

Small steps + Small victories + Small goals = Great Stuff!!!

I am down 6 pounds!!!

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Small Victory

Ok, so I am down 5 pounds - woo hoo!!!!  This losing weight thing is hard!!  I could just kick myself hard for every cookie, piece of cake, second serving and fattening coffee drink I've ever had.  It just wasn't worth it!!!

BUT I have to do what I said - focus on 5 pounds at a time!!  These small victories will lead to a great big one!  YAY!!

I went shopping on my lunch break today.  I tired on 5 shirts and they all looked like shit on me, but instead of always blaming the sweater itself, the material or the designer, it's ultimately my fault.  It's good to remain positive, but it's also honest and grown-up to hold myself responsible for the way I look.  I got myself in this mess and will get myself out! I HAVE to!!  This is what keeps motivating me. 

I also ordered online a cute little red, white and blue number that I am going to wear on the 4th of July and I want to look rockin' in it!!!  It's hanging up in my bedroom and I look at it every single day!!

I haven't incorporated any physical activity into my daily routine yet.  To be honest I am SOOOOOO tired!!  I will get there though.  I am not giving up on that yet. 

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Bring it on 2012!!!

I LOVE New Years.  I really do feel like, for obvious reasons, it's a great time to start fresh, with new goals and a new outlook on life.

2011 was a great year and like all year's it had it's up and downs.  More ups than downs, so that is good.

To be honest I didn't exercise as much as I anticipated with all the craziness due to the holidays.  I just felt like my time wasn't my own, running here and there, going to functions and trying to fit sleep in there too!!

So yesterday I got back on track.  I am down 1.6 pounds.  I definitely gained weight over the holidays and splurged a little or maybe a lot knowing that New Year's was around the corner. 

I know this may sound crazy, but with only one day under my belt I do feel fantastic.  I am just anxious and excited for the future.  I was reading an article last night about weight loss and this comment really gave me comfort.  The lady featured in the article lost 115+ pounds and she said that it seems over whelming to think about how much you need to lose, but just focus on 5 pounds at a time and before you know it, you've reached your goal.  I really like that idea.  I need to lose 50 pounds by August for a family reunion and my daughter's 2nd birthday - I didn't reach my goal for her 1st and I really regret that.

50 pounds sounds like a lot to me and it is, but I got myself here and I need to fix it!!  So I am just going to focus on losing 5 pounds at a time and see where that gets me.  Even if I only lose 5 pounds a month that puts me at 40 pounds down and I would be ecstatic with that, so would Michael, so would my daughter and so would my mother - my health is at jeopardy with my high blood pressure.

On Monday I was cleaning my room and hanging up all my clothes and was getting totally depressed.  My size 16 pants are getting tight, my shirts are too tight and don't fit like they should and when I am not at work  I just wear my mumu because that is what fits me and I am totally comfortable BUT super unattractive.  

This may be too much information, but Michael sometimes notices - when I am not hiding or changing in the dark - how tight my bra is on me and the red marks it leaves from wearing all day, it's embarrassing!!!!! 

The sad thing is I have gained 27 pounds after the birth of my daughter - what!?!?!  I know, I know!! Most people lose. 

After my daughter's birth and up until now I never turned down a piece of cake or chocolate, then when I was done breast feeding I made up for lost time and drank lots of beer!! UGH!!!
I am going to contribute this to being a little depressed after my daughter was born.  We lived with Michael's brother, his crazy girlfriend and her 3 awful children and it was horrible for so many reasons.  My daughter gave me so much join, but my stress eating went out of control.  We had to share a kitchen so there was really no way to prepare healthy meals and if we did we didn't eat until really late after the hooligans downstairs were out of sight.

Anywho,  I am really looking forward to 2012, it's the year of "Get My Shit Together!!"  Eat healthy, exercise, be more organized and less stressed!

Cheers!!